

# THE POLESTAR FOUNDATION ANNOUNCES WINNERS OF 14th ANNUAL POLESTAR AWARDS

~ Recognises Excellence in IT and Business Journalism for 2011 ~

Chennai (India), November 29, 2012: The PoleStar Foundation, an independent trust established in 1998 to recognise Excellence in Business and IT Journalism, announced the winners of the 14th Annual PoleStar Awards in a ceremony held at the ITC Sheraton Park Hotel & Towers, on Wednesday, November 28, 2012. The award ceremony was inaugurated by the Chief Guest, Hon'ble Dr. C Rangarajan – Chairman of the Prime Minister's Economic Advisory Council & former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India in the presence of Arun Jain, Founder, PoleStar Foundation and Chairman & CEO, Polaris Financial Technology Limited and other special dignitaries from Industry, Media and Academia.



### From left to right:

Hari Pullakat from The Economic Times, Shelley Singh from The Economic Times, Jamshed Avari CHIP, Shruthika Verma from Businessworld, Dr. C. Rangarajan, Chairman of the Prime Minister's Economic Advisory Council and Arun Jain, Founder, PoleStar Foundation

Hi-res pictures of the event can be made available on request



## The Winners of the 14<sup>th</sup> Annual PoleStar Awards are:

#### 1. Best Feature in IT Journalism:

Mr. Hari Pulakkat, Senior Editor of The Economic Times for his story, 'How smart technologies are drawing city of tomorrow and redrawing cities of today' published in The Economic Times dated November, 2011.

#### 2. Best Feature in Business Journalism:

Ms. Shrutika Verma, Principal Correspondent of Businessworld for her story 'Services Economy Moves Online' published in Businessworld dated December, 2011.

## 3. The Jury's Special Recognition:

Mr. Jamshed Avari, Deputy Editor of CHIP for his story 'You're Being Tracked!' published in CHIP magazine dated April, 2011.

## 4. The Jury's Special Mention:

Mr. Shelley Singh, Senior Assistant Editor of The Economic Times for his story, 'How low cost computers are used for education, livelihood' published in The Economic Times dated October, 2011.

This prestigious recognition for the Best Feature in IT Journalism, Best Feature in Business Journalism and The Jury's Special Recognition Awards includes a trophy, a citation and a cash prize of Rs 1,00,000 for their knowledge upgrade. The Jury's Special Mention award includes a trophy and a citation.

This year, the Foundation received over 600 nominations from Journalists across India. A team of esteemed Jury members from the corporate world and academia selected winners in the categories of IT and Business Journalism.

The Jury comprised of Mr. Abhay Gupte, CEO, Logica India, Ms. Aruna Rao, Group CTO, Kotak Mahindra Bank, Mr. Arunkumar NT, MD, UBS Group Operations and Global Head, Outsourcing & Offshoring, Mr. David Appasamy, Management Consultant, Mr. Deepak Satwalekar, Independent Director, Mr. Pravir Vohra, Former President & Group CTO, ICICI Bank Limited, Mr. Ramaraj R, Co-Founder and Former CEO, Sify Limited and Mr. Ramesh Mangaleswaran, Director, McKinsey & Company.





Chief Guest Hon'ble Dr. C Rangarajan, Chairman of the Prime Minister's Economic Advisory Council with Mr. Arun Jain, Founder, PoleStar Foundation and Chairman & CEO, Polaris Financial Technology Limited at 14<sup>th</sup> Annual PoleStar Awards

Speaking at the awards ceremony, Hon'ble Dr. C Rangarajan, Chairman of the Prime Minister's Economic Advisory Council & former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India said, "Journalism is the fourth pillar of democracy, the other three being Executive, Legislative, and Judiciary. Press keeps a check on these pillars. Our expectation from Journalists and press – be it business or IT journalists – is not merely facts but also its interpretation."

Congratulating the winners, **Mr. Arun Jain, Founder, PoleStar Foundation** said, "We are extremely happy to present this prestigious award to the outstanding talent of Business and IT journalism in the country. Social media, print media, and analytic media must coexist and create confidence instead of a scenario of criticism and cynicism. Fearless journalism must exist. For the country's economy to grow, there must be a shift in the thought process, and journalism must play a critical role to realize this."

The awards ceremony included a panel discussion on the topic 'Is social media a threat to mainstream media?'. Moderated by Mr. Sanjay Pinto, Advocate, Madras High Court and Former Resident Editor, NDTV 24X7, the panel featured thought leaders and eminent personalities from the Media fraternity including Dr. Anita Ratnam, Performer, Choreographer and Arts Entrepreneur, Mr. Ravi Krishnan, Co-Founder & CEO, Stepathlon, Mr. P Selvaganesh, IRS, Additional Commissioner, Income Tax and Mr. 'TV' Varadharajen, Television and Theatre Personality.



The awards ceremony witnessed eminent media personalities, leaders from the Industry and students from Journalism schools in Chennai.

#### **About The PoleStar Foundation**

The PoleStar Foundation instituted the PoleStar Award in 1998 to celebrate Excellence in IT & Business journalism. The foundation through its annual awards pays tribute to the media citizens' contribution, for their commitment to the nation and its people, and also for tirelessly acting as a catalyst in disseminating quality information to the world. The PoleStar Award is an annual award by the PoleStar Foundation for Excellence in Indian journalism. For further details, visit http://www.polestar-foundation.org

## For further info, please contact:

Minal Sahani

Mob: +91 91766 26468

Email: minal.sahani@polarisFT.com